Baxter County Library Logo

Baxter County Library provides access to several online databases to our patrons.

Genealogy

Heritage Quest
Federal census records from 1790 - 1830
Tax lists, city directories, local histories, Revolutionary War records
Persi Index
Freedman's Bank

Ancestry.com (available only in the Library)
The largest family history site online with over 4 billion names in worldwide historical records, family tree services and genealogy.

Education & Research

EBSCO Host - EBSCO Host Web
Academic Search Elite - 2000 scholarly journals, 1500 peer reviewed titles.
Eric - 2200 education digests, 1000 education journal.
Masterfile Premier - Books and jornals, reference books, biographies, primary source documents, photos, maps and flags.
Newspaper Source - 30 national and international newspapers, television and radio transcripts, 200 regional newspapers.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia - Over 25,000 entries
Professional Development Collection - 550 education journals

Encyclopedia Brittanica Online - Search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and websites.
Facts.com - Access to primary source documents, timelines, biographies, images, charts, historical texts, interviews, and more.
Gale's Discover Collections - Geography and culture, history, science, health and literature.
OCLC - First Search - Article search fore bibliographic information, book search (summary and bibliography).
Learning Express Library - A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series including the ACT, SAT, GED, GRE, GMAT, Law enforcement, Firefighter, Real Estate, Cosmetology, U. S. Citizenship and more. NOTE: USE ALL 14 DIGITS OF LIBRARY CARD TO ACCESS THIS DATABASE.

Health & Medical

EBSCO - EBSCO Host Web
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition - 550 Scholarly full-text journals (Nursing, Nursse Practitioner, Journal of Clinical Nursing, GP General Practioner).
Health Source - Consumer Edition - Full-test 150 journals (AARP Magazine, Women's Day, Men's Health, Cancer). Health topics such as childcare, nutrition sports.
Clinical Pharmacology - Up-to-date drug monographs on U. S. prescription drugs. Includes herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and investigative drugs.

Business & Legal

EBSCO - EBSCO Host Web
Business Source Elite - 1100 business journals (Money Magazine, Consumer Reports, Computer World). Full-text articles, searchable by keyword.
Regional Business News - 75 business journals, newspapers, newswires. Metropolitan and rural areas of the U. S.
Legal Collection - 250 scholarly legal journals.

Gales Legal Trac
Major law reviews/specialty journals. Law journals and legal newspapers.

Lois Law (available only in the Library)
Offers a wide range of legal content and supporting materials.

Children & Teens

EBSCO HOST
Kids Search - Picture subject prompts. Collection of several EBSCO databases.
Student Research Center - Collection of several EBSCO databases and Columbia Encyclopedia.
Searchasaurus - Fun database for kids and tutoria. Encyclopedia, photos, animals.

EBSCO - EBSCO Host Web
Funk & Wagnall's New World
Encyclopedia
- Over 25,000 entries
Middle Search Plus - 140 articles from popular magazines. Biographies, primary documents, photos, maps.
MAS Ultra - School Editions - 700 popular publications. Reference books, biographies, photos, maps.
Primary Search - 70 popular elementary magazines
EBSCO Animals - Nature and habitat (color photos)

Encyclopedia Brittanica
Jump to "FOR KIDS" section

Gale's Discovery Collection
Geography and culture, history, science and health.

Miscellaneous

EBSCO Host
Auto Repair and Reference Center - Repair procedures and maintenance for most cars. Service bulletins (recalls for your vehicle). Wiring diagrams for many vehicles.
Novelist - information about 135,000 titles. Series, authors, similar books, book talks, reviews. Reading levels (lexiles) and teacher aides.

Price It!
Provides both historical prices of items and articles from some of the best-known authors and authorities in the antiques and collectibles industry.

NetLibrary
eAudiobooks can be downloaded or played on any desktop, laptop or portable device that supports Windows Media Player version 9 and above. Users can also transfer favorite titles to a wide range of portable devices, including portable music players, portab